Polls open in Norwich elections postponed after candidate's death

Wesley the Miniature Schnauzer outside a polling station in Norwich. Photo: Archant

Voters in Norwich's Sewell ward will go to the polls on Thursday, June 17. - Credit: Archant

The polls have opened in part of Norwich, in elections which were postponed due to the death of one of the candidates.

The elections in Sewell ward were due to take place on May 6 but were suspended following the death of Conservative candidate Eve Collishaw.

Norwich Lord Mayor Eve Collishaw.

The elections in Sewell ward were postponed after the death of Conservative candidate Eve Collishaw. - Credit: Antony Kelly

Miss Collishaw, a former Norwich Lord Mayor, had been standing for both Norfolk County Council and Norwich City Council, but died, at the age of 76, in April.

Voting in the rearranged election is under way today. Polling stations opened at 7am and close at 10pm. The count takes place overnight.

At county council level, Labour's Julie Brociek-Coulton is looking to retain the division she has held for the past eight years.

She was a comfortable winner in 2017, with a majority of 1,125 over the second placed Conservatives.

The Liberal Democrat is Helen Arundell, while Simon Jones is the Conservative candidate.

The Green candidate is Adrian Holmes, who has previously served as a city councillor for Wensum and Mancroft.

Most Read

In the city council election, Labour's Laura McCarney-Gray is defending the ward she first won in 2019.

The Greens are fielding Gary Champion, while the county Conservative and Lib Dem candidates are also standing for the city division.

Polling cards state where people should go to vote, with polling stations at Rosebery Road Methodist Church, Silver Road Community Centre, Christ Church Centre and St Mary Magdalene Church.

Due to coronavirus safety measures, people are urged to take their own pen or pencil to mark the ballot sheets and will be asked to wear masks to enter the polling stations.

Norfolk County Council's headquarters at County Hall in Norwich. Pic: Neil Perry.

The Conservatives are in control of Norfolk County Council. - Credit: Archant

Following the May 6 elections, the Conservatives tightened their control on Norfolk County Council.

They held 58 divisions, Labour 11, the Liberal Democrats eight, the Green Party three and the Independents three.

However, the resignation of Conservative Thomas Smith, who represented Gaywood South, to take up a job offer in London, means a by-election for his division will be held.

The leader of Norwich City Council says the government must make more money available or local counc

Labour have control of Norwich City Council. - Credit: EDP pics © 2007

Norwich City Council remains under the control of Labour. They have 27 councillors,  the Greens nine and the Liberal Democrats three.