Creed earns another Norfolk Grand Prix victory

Winners from Norwich, Broadland and King's Lynn emerged from the 40-plus players competing in the latest Norfolk Junior Squash Grand Prix, held at Broadland Sports Club, Fleggburgh, on Sunday.

Winners from Norwich, Broadland and King's Lynn emerged from the 40-plus players competing in the latest Norfolk Junior Squash Grand Prix, held at Broadland Sports Club, Fleggburgh, on Sunday.

In the top group, Bannatynes' Jordan Creed claimed another group win with an all action display over Fakenham's Adam Sinkins, who finished in a creditable second place after two good earlier wins.

East Anglia Tennis and Squash Club's Tom Morris fought back from a set down to secure third in a tough battle with the ever improving Alex Oliver, of Cromer/Greshams.

Alex Williams claimed fifth for East Anglia after beating home player Jake Sallis, while fellow Broadland player Chris Cook took a best ever seventh finish.

You may also want to watch:

In Group Two, hot favourite Nathan Taylor eased through to the final and met the fast improving Jake Bond, who had also progressed without dropping a game.

The group final did not disappoint, with five pulsating games seeing Nathan justify his seeding with a 11-8 8-11 11-8 9-11 11-8 win.

Most Read

Lasith Ranasinghe made a welcome return and fought out an equally close first round match with Alex Coburn before winning 3-2. Alex went on to gain his first victory when snatching the decider 12-10 against Andrew Black.

East Anglia's Milo Butler was seeded to win Group Three but newcomer Luke Cox, of Broadland - swapping his badminton racket for a squash version - defeated Milo's brother Izaak and Robby Coates before toppling the top seed 3-0.

Duncan Butler and Drew Butchart showed improved form in winning two of their three games, to finish third and fifth respectively.

Group Four saw Broadland new boys Daniel Timms and Sam Kruber enjoy battling displays on their debuts - Sam winning their duel 3-1.

At the top of the group, Martin Jolly gained a deserved group win but not without a scare from another fast improving Bond brother, Liam.

Group Five went to grand prix newcomer Jesse Baker with three comfortable wins, with Harleston's Sam McCluskey continuing to show promise and is one to watch for the future.

East Anglia's Charlie Simpson gained a maximum points in Group Six to gain his second group win, and two more Broadland Sports newcomers - Ryan Evans and Oliver Millar - enjoyed their first tournament experience.

Joe Henden - usually a tennis man - recorded three wins, with Claire Jolly finishing runner-up - and volunteering to mark many of the group's matches.

Tournament director Tony Henden said: 'Overall the tournament was played in a fantastic atmosphere, with all of the players being immaculately behaved during their matches. Special mention should go to Jamie Foyster and Adam Sinkins for their outstanding sportsmanship and helpful attitude.'

The next Norfolk Junior Squash Grand Prix event is February 21 at Breckland Leisure Centre, Thetford. More details and entry form at

t Results - Group One: 1 Jordan Creed (Bannatynes), 2 Adam Sinkins (Fakenham), 3 Tom Morris (EATSC), 4 Alex Oliver (Cromer), 5 Alex Williams (EATSC), 6 Jake Sallis (Broadland), 7 Chris Cook (Broadland), 8 Jamie Foyster (EATSC); Group Two: 1 Nathan Taylor (EATSC), 2 Jake Bond (Bannatynes), 3 Lasith Ranasinghe (B Broom), 4 Olly Bickley (Harleston), 5 Sam Lanham (Fakenham), 6 Alex Coburn (B Broom), 7 Will Henden (Broadland), 8 Andrew Black (Fakenham); Group Three: 1 Luke Cox (Broadland), 2 Milo Butler (EATSC), 3 Duncan Butler (Fakenham), 4 Robby Coates (EATSC), 5 Drew Butchart (Fakenham), 6 Izaak Butler (EATSC), 7 Sam Henden (Broadland), 8 David Gorrod (Bannatynes); Group Four: 1 Martin Jolly (King's Lynn), 2 Liam Bond (Bannatynes), 3 Prakrit Raj Kumar (EATSC), 4 Sam Crafer (Reepham), 5 Sam Kruber (Broadland), 6 Daniel Timms (Broadland); Group Five: 1 Jesse Baker, 2 Sam McCluskey (Harleston), 3 Rebecca Samuel (Beccles), 4 Liam Mooney (EATSC), 5 Olivia Boyce (Reepham), 6 Bradley Nobbs (Fakenham); Group Six: 1 Charlie Simpson (EATSC), 2 Claire Jolly (King's Lynn), 3 James Peterson (EATSC), 4 Joe Henden (Broadland), 5 Chloe Peterson (EATSC), 6 Ryan Evans (Broadland), 7 Ollie Millar (Broadland).

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter