Blast from the past as Snetterton plays host to some vintage marques

PUBLISHED: 08:21 14 September 2017

The start of a Vintage Sports Car Club race at Snetterton.Picture: Peter McFayden

The start of a Vintage Sports Car Club race at Snetterton.Picture: Peter McFayden

Peter McFadyen

The highly-popular Vintage Sports Car Club returns to Snetterton, after a year’s absence, to the delight of the many local enthusiasts who flocked to previous events.

The Seaman, Flockhart and Williams Trophies race is the headline event with the ERA R7B-mounted Julian Wilton taking on a trio of Bugatti T35s headed by Mike Preston, Julian Majzub and Stephen Shoosmith in what will be a fascinating contest.

Sue Darbyshire, fully recovered from a recent accident in her Morgan Super Aero, takes on a number of Frazer Nash and Riley-mounted rivals as she looks to pull off another giant-killing performance with her three-wheeled machine in the Standard and Modified Pre-War Sports Cars event.

In the Special Pre-War Sports Cars, Patrick Blakeney-Edwards will be hoping for victory, having narrowly lost out to the similar Frazer Nash of Edwards Williams, who will not be attending, at the recently Mallory Park event.

The Archie Scott Brown Trophy race, named after Snetterton’s first idol, has Roberto Giordanelli leading the entry list in his Lister Knobbly, the marque with which Scott-Brown will be forever associated. A quartet of Lotus Elites will be keen to win their marque battle with Dougal Cawley looking to defeat Brian Arculus.

Wilton, and his ERA, will also contest the Scratch Race for Pre-War Cars with Julian Grimwade keen for a repeat of his win at the last race aboard his Frazer Nash Single Seat.

The Intermarque Challenge Race pits Riley, MG, Frazer Nash and a pair of Austin 7s, but watch out for the spectacularly-driven GN/Ford Piglet of Dougal Cawley.

The nine-race programme is completed by three handicap events with the first contested over four laps with the 100-year-old Vauxhall A/D Type of Tony Stephens the oldest car taking part.

Race two is exclusively for Rileys with James Ricketts in his single-seater fighting it out for victory while the third event will see Tony Lees, Rodney Seber and Christian Pedersen keen to make their mark on the contest.

With a Sprint event plus a tour of several south Norfolk venues on the Saturday there is a host of activities. The first race is on Sunday at 1pm.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Norwich Evening News. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Norwich Evening News