Boyd strikes late on to keep K & P on course

NORFOLK AND SUFFOLK VETERANS: Kirkley & Pakefield needed a late winner from defender Darren Boyd at Walmer Road against Bungay to keep on course to retain the Premier Division title.

Kirkley & Pakefield needed a late winner from defender Darren Boyd at Walmer Road against Bungay to keep on course to retain the Premier Division title.

Daryl Hill and Jon Sturman had given them a two goal lead before strikes from David Cushing and Kevin Ellis (top scorer on 10) levelled matters in the second period.

If they win their last match at Walmer Road to Eastern Electricity OB this Sunday they will become champions. In fact, Eastern Electricity could still have a say in the title race themselves with another match against second placed Woodbridge Town.

Division Two (East) winners Griffin beat their City rivals Beehive 5-3 at Thorpe.

On target were Ian Whalebelly with a brace and one each from James Hewison-Carter, John Kirkham and Steve Petch.

Front-runners in Division Three (North) Aylsham Black Boys and Watton Utd had respective wins of 3-1 and 6-2 at Swaffham and NALGO OB.

Most Read

Scorers for Aylsham were Colin Emberley (2) and James Nichols (top marksman on 14), with Ray Kilner (2), Mark Ward (2), Trevor Brown (leading Division scorer with 19) and Ian Hunt netting for Watton. If Aylsham win their final match - a return fixture with Swaffham this Sunday - they will take the title.

In Division Four (East) leaders Martham look favourites to finish top following a convincing 7-1 success at Parklands to complete their campaign.

Marksmen were Nigel Balls, Martin Plane and Paul Punchard with doubles and one from Gary Adamson (top scorer on 9).

Their close rivals, Kings Head Loddon and Sprowston Wanderers are still in the hunt but have to play each other twice - the first meeting coming tonight at Loddon.

Loddon just made it at Spexhall winning 2-1 with goals from Adrian Battisson and Martin Butcher. Sprowston beat Mutford & Wrentham at home 4-1 (John Allison 2, John Blake and Ady Mann).

West Lynn defeated Wymondham College Res by three clear goals at home to go top with strikes from Rob Edwards, Jamie Page and Anthony Stannard.

West Lynn have now completed their fixtures leaving their opponents needing to take all three points in their final game at Norwich Rovers to finish up as champions.

The League Cup final takes place this Friday at Diss Town FC (KO 7.45) with Norfolk County Veteran Cup winners Norwich Trafford taking on Premier Division Woodbridge Town. Trafford will be looking for a treble as they look favourites to take the Division One crown. Referee is Phil South.

Third Division FC Fore Hamlet (Ipswich) beat Gt Yarmouth Postals from the Second Division 4-0 in the League Shield final held at Diss FC. Two late first-half goals from Dennis Tennial and Adrian Hall put them on their way with strikes from Phil Cooper and Stuart Hitter sealing their win in the second period.

Man of the match trophy went to Fore Hamlet's skipper Simon Betts.

Premier Division: Kirkley and Pakefield 3, Bungay Town 2.

Division One: Framlingham Town 3, Whitton United 3.

Division Two (East): Griffin 5, Beehive 3.

Division Two (South): Stowupland Falcons 4, Eastern Electricity OB Res 2; Yaxley Cherry Tree 1, Sole Bay United 2.

Division Three (Central): Heils Bakery Crusaders 1, Kirkley and Pakefield Res 2.

Division Three (North): Mulbarton Wanderers 0, Rocklands 0; NALGO OB 2, Watton United 6; Swaffham Town 1, Aylsham Black Boys 3.

Division Four (Central): Harts 2, Thetford Sports and Social Club 1; Watton United Res 0, Elmswell 6.

Division Four (East): Parklands IFA 1, Martham 7; Spexhall Huntsman/Hounds 1, Kings Head Loddon 2; Sprowston Wanderers 4, Mutford and Wrentham 1.

Division Four (West): Norwich Rovers 13, Cromer Crabs 2; West Lynn Sports and Social Club 3, Wymondham College Res 0.