Did you know that Norwich's oldest dwelling dates back to the 12th century?

The Music House, in King Street, is the only non-religious 12th century building still standing in the Fine City.

Norwich Evening News: Weaving takes place during the 1970sWeaving takes place during the 1970s (Image: Newsquest)

READ MORE: Decision on new apartment to replace salon delayed due to 'air pollution' concerns

The Grade I listed property is best known for its association with Jurnet the Jew, whose son Isaac bought the property in 1225 from a man named John Curry.

The site of the building has been in the news recently due to Norfolk County Council's attempts to sell neighbouring Wensum Lodge.

Norwich Evening News: The Music House during the 1960sThe Music House during the 1960s (Image: Newsquest)

READ MORE: Council vows to remove fencing left dumped in city street for months

The adult learning centre has since been given Asset of Community Value (ACV) status by Norwich City Council, giving community groups six months to come up with a bid before the county council can put it on the open market and sell to the highest bidder.

However, the county council only leases the Music House from the city council, so the building is not affected by the potential sale.

Norwich Evening News: Music House, in King StreetMusic House, in King Street (Image: Google)

The situation prompted Norwich Hebrew Congregation to consider making a move for Music House in order to open it as an anti-semitism museum.

It is thought to have been built by Jurnet Ha Nadib in the 1170s after a period when he had been financing short-term loans to Henry II.

Norwich Evening News: A plaque on the side of the Music HouseA plaque on the side of the Music House (Image: Newsquest)

READ MORE: Three men see bail extended after woman stabbed near city church

In 1723 it was reported in the Norwich Gazette that the city's traditional pipe band, the City Waits were meeting and practising in the hall. 

The building's crypt, which had remained popular for small concerts, was closed in September 2022 due to issues with water ingress and mould.

Norwich Evening News: A tapestry course at Wensum Lodge in 1977A tapestry course at Wensum Lodge in 1977 (Image: Newsquest)

Little is known about the building's use in its early days, but in 1954 it was first used for educational purposes and in the 1960s it was taken on by the county council, to this day it is used to deliver the classes offered by Wensum Lodge.

A plaque on the building states the Jurnet family lived in Music House from around 1720 to 1240, with Sir John Paston living there from 1478 and Lord Chief Justice Coke from 1613.