Norwich Weather

Partly Cloudy

Partly Cloudy

max temp: 9°C

min temp: 3°C

Winners are revealed in Norfolk Youth Parliament elections

PUBLISHED: 06:19 20 March 2014

Successful candidates at County Hall with George Nobbs and Anne Gibson. Photo: Bill Smith

Successful candidates at County Hall with George Nobbs and Anne Gibson. Photo: Bill Smith

Archant © 2014

One of the best weeks of his life – that’s how one successful 11-year-old candidate described the culmination of his experience in the county’s youth parliament elections.

A total of 37,679 11 to 18-year-olds voted in the election – believed to be one of the highest numbers in any election in the youth parliament’s history. And with 48.1pc of Norfolk’s 11 to 18-year-olds casting their vote, it was a higher percentage turnout than the 32.1pc who voted in last year’s county council elections.

Voting took place last week in all nine constituencies – Broadland, Great Yarmouth, Norwich North, Norwich South, South Norfolk, North Norfolk, Mid Norfolk, North West Norfolk and South West Norfolk.

The nine new Members of Youth Parliament (MYP) officially began their two years in office yesterday when the results were announced at County Hall.

Framingham Earl High School pupil Jacob Rhodes, 11, was the victor in South Norfolk with more than 1,500 votes. He said: “I’ve loved it and think it’s been one of the best weeks of my life.”

Jacob, who said he enjoyed the whole campaign including talking to people and putting up posters, said he wanted to “make things better for young people” and was looking forward to getting started.

Harvey Monck, 15, a pupil at Old Buckenham High, was victorious in South West Norfolk and said getting involved in politics was a “long-time dream for him”.

Norfolk County Council introduced text voting in the youth parliament elections for the first time this year in the hope it would increase the turnout.

The winning candidates were: Broadland – Annie Baldwin (2,303 votes); Great Yarmouth – Chloe Hunt (1,255 votes); Mid Norfolk – Emily Fox (1,788 votes); North Norfolk – Bryony Turner (1,244 votes); North West Norfolk – Thomas Bailey (1,093 votes); Norwich North – Jessica Oghenegweke (2,023 votes); Norwich South – Kieren Buxton (2,891 votes); South Norfolk – Jacob Rhodes (1,502 votes); and South West Norfolk – Harvey Monck (1,403 votes).

Most Read

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Show Job Lists