Norwich Weather



max temp: 13°C

min temp: 5°C

Former Lord Mayor of Norwich among by-election candidates

PUBLISHED: 07:00 04 December 2012 | UPDATED: 09:42 04 December 2012

Eve Collishaw at the Mayor-making ceremony in 2009

Eve Collishaw at the Mayor-making ceremony in 2009


A former Lord Mayor of Norwich is among the candidates vying for votes in two by-elections taking place just days before Christmas.

Norwich City Council has vacancies in Crome and Nelson following the resignation of two members in recent weeks, with voting on Wednesday, December 19.

Eve Collishaw, Lord Mayor in 2009/10, has been nominated for the Conservatives in Crome, while the Greens have put forward Judith Ford, Marion Maxwell is representing the Labour and Co-operative Party, Michael Sutton-Croft the Liberal Democrats and Glenn Tingle is the UK Independence Party (Ukip) nominee.

In Nelson, county councillor Andrew Boswell is the Green Party candidate, Alexandra Davies for the Conservatives, Layla Dickerson for Labour and Helen Whitworth is representing the Lib Dems.

Jenny Lay stepped down as Crome ward councillor last month after revealing she is living with cancer for the second time.

Mrs Lay served the city as Sheriff in 1998 and Lord Mayor in 2011/12, and raised £20,000 for Big C last year through her civic role.

Former Nelson city councillor David Rogers resigned in October, blaming the Green Party’s “profoundly undemocratic methods” for his decision.

The city council says the last by-election for the county council’s Lakenham Division in 2011 cost £10,908.

It added the cost of these by-elections will not be double that.

In Nelson, two of the four polling stations usually used are unavailable. They are the Belvedere Centre and St Peter’s Church Hall, in Park Lane. St Thomas’ Parish Hall will be used as a double polling station instead.

Alan Waters, cabinet member for resources, replying to a question at full council last week said: “For all of us, currently sitting as councillors, circumstances in our lives can change.

“Former councillor Jenny Lay resigned on ill-health grounds recognising that she could not continue to carry out her duties as a councillor to the high standards she has always set herself.

“As for the resignation of former councillor David Rogers, apparently unresolvable internal party differences made it difficult to stay on the council.”

People have until 5pm today to register to vote.

Most Read

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Show Job Lists